EXCLUSIVE SPECIAL OFFER - Stay 3 and more nights and get extra 15% discount for non-refundable reservations
-10% discount for FACEBOOK fans.
DISCOUNTS ARE NOT CUMULATIVE
|Guarantee of the lowest price||We guarantee the lowest price if you also reserve accommodation with us.|
Luxurious hotel Mucha is located in the city center, not far from Old Town Square, Wenceslas Square, and Republic Square.
The hotel is also close to the Main train station and Masaryk train station. There are also many restaurants and cafés near the hotel.
Prague 1, 110 00
GPS: 50°5'29.96N; 14°26'28.68E
Phone: +420-222 318 849
Mobil:+420-724 011 083
Metro: stanice Florenc, trasa B a C
Autobus: zastávka Florenc
č. 133, 135, 207, 504, 511
Tramvaj: zastávka Bílá Labuť č. 3, 8, 24, 26, 52
Tramvaj: zastávka Florenc č. 8, 24, 52
It only takes a few minutes walk from the hotel to get to the Republic Square where one can find the Powder Tower, Municipal House, and the biggest shopping centers Palladium and Kotva.
The Powder Tower – the tower which used to serve as a get has been located here since the 13th century and it was one of the 13 entrances to the Old Town. Its foundation stone was set by King Vladislav Jagelonsky in 1475. The gate was a coronation gift from the city council to the Kings and it was built by Matěj Rejsek. It was inspired by Old Town Bridge Tower by Petr Parléř. It was not very useful for defense. It was located next to the King’s seat in the city and it ornamentally decorated. Its construction was stopped after 8 years when the King ran away from the city due to an uprising. When he returned, he moved his seat to the Castle. The gate got its name in the 17th century when it was used as a gunpowder storage facility. The tower was severely damaged in 1757 when Prague was occupied by the Prussians and it was restored when the gate was renovated in 1876.
The Municipal House is the most significant Art Nouveau building that was built in the place of dormer King’s court – the seat of kings in the period of 1383 – 1485. King’s court was empty for several centuries, it was later used as a seminary, and then as a military school. At the beginning of the 20th century, it was tore down and replaced by the Municipal House (1905-1911). The building served as a cultural center with exhibition halls and a large concert hall. External façade is decorated wit stuccoworks and allegorical sculptures. The main facade features a large ceramic half-dome mosaic above the entry, Homage to Prague. Inside, there is the main Prague concert hall and the spirit of the whole building – the Smetana hall. Its ceiling is a glass dome and it is often used also for dancing. Interior of the Municipal house was decorated by famous Czech artists of that time, including Alfons Mucha. There is also a number of smaller halls, conference rooms, and offices but also cafes and restaurants where visitors can relax and enjoy the Art Nouveau decorations.
We can come to Old Town Square through Celetná street. It is one of the oldest streets in Prague and it was connected to the old trade route from eastern Bohemia. It got its name from pastries called “calts” that used to be baked here in the Middle Ages. Its significance rose in the 14the century when it became part of the Royal Route that was used for coronation parades. In the basements of the houses in Celetná Street, foundations of Romanesque and Gothic buildings were found. However, most of these houses with picturesque house signs were rebuilt in the Baroque period. In the house of Black Madonna one can have a look at an interesting collection of Czech cubism that includes paintings, sculptures, furniture, architecture plans, and design.
Old Town Square and its buildings have witnessed much of the rich history of Prague. In the northern part of the square shines the white façade of the Baroque St.Nicholas Church. Its eastern part displays two beautiful examples of great architecture: Gothic house U Kamenného zvonu (By the Stone Bell) and a Golz-Kinsky Palace in Rococo style. The square is surrounded by facades in bright pastel colors. A line of colorful Romanesque or Gothic houses with magical house signs is located in the southern part of the square. The block of houses between Celetná and Železná streets is especially attractive. The square has always been a lively place. Now visitors can find a tourist information center here and there are also many restaurants, cafes, shops, and galleries.
One of the most interesting buildings in Prague is the Old Town City Hall founded by John Luxemburg in 1338 as the seat of the city council. During centuries it was connected to several other old houses that were interconnected. Now the city hall block is created by several colorful Gothic and Renaissance houses that were renovated after they had been severely damaged at the end of the World War II. The tower is 69.5 m high and it offer s beautiful view of Prague. The first astronomical clock was obtained in the 15the century. It was improved by master Hanuš in 1490. The city council was afraid that he would create a similar masterpiece for a different city so they had him blinded. Even though the mechanism of the famous astronomical clock has been adjusted several times, it still looks the same as when it was constructed by master watchmaker Jan Táborský between 1552 and 1572.
Everyone connects Wenceslas Square with the equestrian statue of St.Wenceslas and the building of the National Museum. In the Middle Ages there used to be a horse market. It is still a vibrant and important place today. When walking there, notice the houses. Most of them come from the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries when the square was rebuilt. You will notice some exceptional examples of decorative styles that were typical for Czech architecture of that time. You will find many passages with shops, clubs, theaters, and cinemas.
The State Opera is only a one minute walk from Wenceslas Square. Originally, there was a New Town Theater but it was torn down in 1885 and replaced by the building of the New German Theater that was supposed to compete with the National Theater. In 1945 the building became the seat of the State Opera. Front façade of the building consists of a pillar loggia. The space above it is decorated by a neoclassicist frieze. One can find images of Dionysus and Thalia, the muse of comedy.
© Provozovatel: AVE a.s. zapsaná v obchodním rejstříku vedeném u Městského soudu v Praze, oddíl B, vložka 68 Pod Barvířkou 6/747, 150 00, Prague 5, IČO: 00505641, VAT: CZ00505641
Podle zákona o evidenci tržeb je prodávající povinen vystavit kupujícímu účtenku. Zároveň je povinen zaevidovat přijatou tržbu u správce daně online; v případě technického výpadku pak nejpozději do 48 hodin.